Antony Gormley

Antony Gormley is a British sculptor who often uses figures as the main part of his work.

 

I like Gormley’s sculptures as he keeps a theme throughout his work but he creates every piece differently. When I was doing my GCSE Art coursework I was inspired by his work and decided to use  black shadows of figures as part of my work.

He uses a different technique in his work but he repeatedly comes back to the idea of using a figure. Gormley uses his body as a mold for nearly all his work because he believes that your body isn’t an object but a place. I think this is why he uses a lot of metal and wood like materials in his work.

I think his work looks very futuristic. I like how he has made the some of his figures look like they’re made of different parts that he has just put together, like the human body. Other sculptures he has created are messy and unorganised, like a body has many different rooms or how someone could be untidy in real life.

Leave a comment